accessKent will be down for maintenance between 2:30 and 3:30pm, Tuesday, April 11th. The outage will be for approximately 30 minutes.
Kent County LogoKent County Seal

Sheriff Department

School Resource Officer

The Kent County Sheriff Department's School Resource Officer Program is a collaborative effort between the schools, community, students, and law enforcement. This program creates a safe school environment by having a certified Police Officer assigned to a specific school district.

The goal of the School Resource Officer Program is to provide proactive law enforcement by working with educators, students and parents in an effort to reduce crime, drug abuse, and violence in and around the school buildings and the school district.

Currently, Kent County has six School Resource Officers. Deputy Andrew Kozal is assigned to the Northview Public School District, Deputy Glenn Nevelle is assigned to the Forest Hills Public School District, Deputy Scott Cook is assigned to the Kent City Public School District, Deputy Todd Summerhays is assigned to the Lowell Public School District, Deputy Andy Jonkman is assigned to the Byron Center School District, Deputy Tim Erhardt is assigned to the Kenowa Hills Public School District, Deputy Pat Frederick is assigned to the Caledonia School District and Deputy Tom McCutcheon is assigned to the Cedar Springs School District. The School Resource Officers work in the schools Monday thru Friday and attend most extra-curricular activities.

If you would like more information on the School Resource Officer program, please contact:

Sandi Jones
(616) 632-6221

Contact Us

Sheriff Department


701 Ball Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

(616) 632-6100

(616) 632-6122

Lawrence A. Stelma

Lawrence A. Stelma

Michelle Young
Under Sheriff

Kevin Kelley
Chief Deputy-Law Enforcement

Chuck Dewitt
Chief Deputy-Corrections

Correctional Facility

703 Ball Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

(616) 632-6400

Inmate Information
(616) 632-6300

Employee Recognition

Nominate a Kent County Employee for Quality Service!